A New Challenge

I am about to begin a new venture…I think….

Challenges...I like challenges.  I like challenges that make you think, persevere and problem solve.  More importantly I like to succeed when faced with a challenge. I say this knowing I need to check myself, knowing that each success is not mine, knowing that I can do nothing without The Lord.

Running…you will note that in my A Little About Me post, I did not list running as something I enjoy.  I don’t.  It is more than a challenge for me.  Running up just pieces of an insanely long and steep mountainous hill by my house is not fun. Running in a room full of sweat, not travelling anywhere, with my mind reminding me how long it is taking and how much I am contributing to the  sweat infested room, is not fun.  Running solely to run is just not something I put on my list of fun. I always enjoyed sports and could run all day if you gave me a sport to distract me from just running, but running just to run is among those things I claimed I would never do.  So of course, I must chalk that up into the category of things I do that I promised I never would.  Isn’t it funny how God changes our minds?

Food…I love food.  I eat when I am hungry, which is fine.  I eat when I am not hungry…hmmm…is that ok?  (that would be a great big no in case you were wondering)  I simply like food.  Hence the running.  Running is my solution to my food fun.  I would put eating, especially out with friends, on my list of fun. (Admittedly, since running is more of a habit now, it has moved from my hatred list to my tolerable list…still not on my fun list)

Neighbors…we have new neighbors.  Awesome people!  New friends.  My new friend has issued me a new challenge…run a half marathon.

UMMMM….WHAT!!???

Of course, now it is in my head.  Can I do it?  ME?  Really?  My initial response would be...uhhh, no.  Not in a million years.  13.1 miles!  I get bored in 3 and have never run more than 6.3, which I ran this morning.

What to do…?  Here lies the question that lingers in my mind.  If I do it, I don’t want to make a big deal out of it…truly.  I want to do it for those who can’t, want to do it because I have been blessed with the opportunity and most likely the capability, want to do it to face the challenge.   Of course, putting it out on the internet for all to see, makes it a little more known than I initially intended, but maybe it will keep me accountable as well.  Or perhaps I will just keep everyone guessing until after the race, which is still a few months away.

Do I or don’t I?

Tell me what you think and I will tell you what I decide…maybe.  😉

2 responses

  1. Ok, I’ll comment! Do it for me. Do it because you’re at least 10 years younger than me. Do it for me because my foot is stuck in this CAM boot & when it finally gets out, I’ll be chasing you! I can’t wait to hear more about it.

Leave a Reply

