Training

I know some think I am crazy, but I decided to follow a half marathon training schedule regardless of my half marathon decision.  In its own way, the practice/training is as much of a challenge to me.  In following this plan I have made two interesting discoveries…

#1…it is a cruel, cruel thing to go to a gym that is right next door to a place that bakes fresh bread (one of my weaknesses).  When my belly is growling and I have just started the treadmill, the bread smell, well, makes me sad.

#2…simply adding another mile or two to my daily workout along with a little more speed has made me extremely hungry!  Hungry enough to eat far more than the few extra calories I have burned.  This means that despite training for a race I am gaining weight.  A year ago that would have made me quite frustrated.  But I feel healthier today than I have in a long time and realize I just have to regulate my hunger and my training accordingly.  My weight will adjust soon.

Am I going to run or not?

We will see.

But training will continue…and yes, some days next to the glorious smell of baking bread…*sigh*

Leave a Reply

