Wedding Day

Not mine.  My beautiful cousin’s.  I am overjoyed for her! I have the honor of being in her wedding party, so get to see her say “I Do” up close.  Of course it brings back memories to my wedding day.

11 years ago.  I can remember so much, which I am glad.  I tried to be diligent in remembering details of the day as I knew it would fly by.  My husband and I were the most calm people in the church that day.  It boggled my mind that anyone else would be nervous, for we certainly were not.  For me, I think calmness came because I knew that no matter what happened that day, at the end of it, I would be married to my best friend.  I know my parents had normal parent anxiety, but I now know why others were nervous.

Because I am nervous for my cousin.  Not because of her groom choice…they are completely in sync and a great pair.  But because I want everything to be perfect for her.  And it will be…because at the end of the day, no matter what happens, she will be married to her best friend.

This week brought on some personal concerns for the wedding… not wanting to let the bride down.  With training I have been eating more and building more muscle.  All that is fine, except that my dress is a bit more snug than it was in the past.  I have visions of it splitting open from being too tight.  I also have visions of my children disturbing the ceremony.  They are WAY excited to be spectators at the occasion and I am happy that they are allowed to come.  They even helped in choosing their special clothes for the day (which will be recycled for Easter as well…and many times after).  But…now they are all sick and coughing is the main culprit.  In a few hours we will see if my dress and my children make it through without causing a scene.

Regardless of my family, today is the day…their day  The day made for my cousin and her groom.  The day 2 wonderful people become one.  The day a new life for them starts.  The day where first memories of their lives together as husband and wife begins.  In a world where the sacrament of marriage has become less sacred, it makes me proud of them for standing together, promising forever and taking it seriously.

My prayer for them is the same as my prayer for marriages across the globe.  I pray that they may build their lives on God’s Word, that they may turn to Him and each other when times are hard, that they may not give up on each other, that they may back each other and that they may have a marriage that is a cord of three…one that will be a witness to all they meet.

Leave a Reply

