The Fragility of Life

While I was living my life, someone died.

While I was running a meaningless race, my friend was saying goodbye to her brother.

While I was hugging my children during the day, someone was hugging a child goodbye.

While I was sleeping one night about 7.5 years ago my baby died inside of me.

When I go to sleep tonight, there will be people that don’t wake up in the morning.

When my husband gets to work safely tomorrow, there will be those who don’t.

In an instant…a flash…loved ones are gone.

Life is so fragile.  Lives are forever taken for granted and then forever missed.  It doesn’t matter if it was sudden or expected…there are still the memories… “just yesterday he was sitting next to me,” “just last week she waved to me,” “just an hour ago he kissed me goodbye…”

The older I get the more I realize how quickly life can fade…age, sex, race, religion do not have a say when it comes to death.

We do have a say when it comes to life, though.  We can determine how many hugs we give our children, spouses, loved ones.  We can determine how many times we say “I love you” and mean it.  We can determine how many times we say “thank you” and mean it.  We can determine how many times we give a gift, share a meal, say a prayer.  We can be determined to live for Christ so that we will live with Him when our earthly life is through.  As fragile as life is, these are necessary things.  We need to be diligent in remembering how fragile life is, so that we do not regret the choices we have made after a life has passed.

Leave a Reply

