Grilling

I look forward to summer every year because I love the sun, the warm, evenings outside.  I also love the grill!  And while you can grill in the rain and the snow…there is nothing quite as yummy as sitting on the deck on a warm summer’s evening awaiting the lovely smells coming from the grill.  Yesterday I tried grilled butternut squash for the first time and it was delicious!  I will post the recipe, but I did not follow it completely…it took longer than suggested for tenderness and when it comes to seasonings like that, I don’t measure them out…just do a little of this and a little of that.  Here it is:

Ingredients:
1 butternut squash

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

salt & pepper & garlic powder

Directions:
1. Peel squash and cut into 1/2-inch thick slices.

2. Mix oil, vinegar and garlic in a small bowl, then pour over squash. Toss to coat, then sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place in the fridge and allow to marinate for at least 1 hour.

3. Preheat grill to medium-high heat for about 10 minutes. Place the squash slices on the grill with tongs, being careful to save some of the marinade. Grill 5 minutes per side until the squash has some nice charred bits and is tender.

Another summer hit is grilled pizza.  This is especially good for my family of lactose intolerant people.  I can control what I put in the dough and sprinkle the top with lactose free cheese.  It is still yummy!  There are so many grilled pizza recipes on the internet, I encourage you to go check them out.

And for an end to the evening, s’mores on the grill are scrumptious!  Build your s’more, stick it on the grill and wait for the marshmallow to ooze a little…enjoy!  Putting some foil underneath helps keep the mess down.

When summertime hits, anything and everything I can put on the grill goes on, whether it is pineapple, corn on the cob, kabobs, ribs…the grill just makes everything taste a bit better.  🙂

Leave a Reply

