On The Corner of Bitter and Sweet

I finished this book this morning.  It was a good read…the author wrote very well!  I enjoyed learning a bit of history through this historical fiction story.  I know not everything was completely accurate, but many things are glimpses of the time period.  Anyone who can make history entertaining gets my vote.  🙂

Because I am who I am, I wasn’t necessarily a fan of the love story.  Admittedly I am not one who likes love triangles (I know that takes away a lot of books).  This was not exactly a love triangle, but still, the main character held onto a former flame throughout his marriage.  My romantic heart wants him to love only one all his life.  I am going to choose to believe that he loved his wife so much that he chose her even though he had memories of a past…but I know that in the story he really loved them both.  Many romantics find that romantic, but I still like the one and only love stories.

My opinion doesn’t change that the book is well-written, a good story, and recommended.

Leave a Reply

