day 26

So I am adding a challenge to my weight loss challenge.  It is going to be hard to reach my reward foods if I keep cheating and eating high calories in foods that aren’t my reward foods.  I might as well just eat the reward ones, but I won’t…alas…someday my will power will work again.  😉

Anyway, my downfall is, and always has been, sugar.  I have tried many times to do a paleo or primal diet and fail after a few days.  This time around I am going to avoid refined sugars for 30 days.  Beginning today and taking me to September 9th, my food intake will be almost devoid of refined sugars.  I am making an exception with my cottage cheese and greek yogurt (they aren’t high in sugar content, but have a little)…for me the protein and dairy are important.

My meals will consist primarily of fruits and veggies, nuts, fish, egg whites and chicken.  As with each new venture in being healthy I am excited, but I am nervous that I don’t have what it takes to do it.  I have no intentions of giving sugar up completely in the long run, but know giving it up short term will be healthy and will hopefully (hopefully!) make me more controlled in my sugar intake in the future.  Since it is a 30 day challenge and I am making it public, I have a better chance of success.

Sugar has a bad rep, but tastes so good.  I know it is blamed for myriad of diseases and health issues, so getting it under control would be a big benefit.

Here’s to another attempt at being healthy!  🙂

AM workout: run on elliptical = 500 calories burned

PM workout: will do weight lifting for arms

Calories planned around 1500

I went over yesterday, but if I stick to my sugar free challenge (I mapped out a daily menu plan for that) I should remain between 1400 and 1600 for daily caloric intake.

2 responses

    • So what I am attempting is this:

      6 small meals a day.
      1=egg whites and berries
      2=cottage cheese, flaxseed and almonds
      3=tuna, spinach, greek yogurt
      4=carrots, salsa, sweet potato, chicken
      5=the remainder of the sweet potato and yogurt
      6=banana and almonds or if I feel really desperate, dark chocolate and almonds.
      If I stray too much, I know I will slide completely off track, but I may replace tuna for tilapia or scallops on occasion. 🙂

      I am open to any and all suggestions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

