Gardening lessons

This summer was a learning experience for my green thumb.

First, we moved the pumpkin patch.  We have been growing pumpkins every year for the last decade and I love it!  They are just fun to grow and to use to decorate for fall.  The new spot just wasn’t amenable to pumpkin growth.  I was so sad to have to buy pumpkins this year!  Seriously, I could have planted a dozen pumpkin patches for the cost of half a dozen pumpkins.  We need to find a new spot for next year and hopefully it will be a success.

This was the first year that we did gardening in pots.  We don’t have a lot of space to garden, so we tried the pots on the deck.  My plan was to grow spaghetti sauce and salsa ingredients.  The herbs did amazingly well!  We had more than we could ever use…especially because I was too slow with the tomatoes.  We planted them WAY too late and they are still green.  😦  That kind of put a damper on the herbs and peppers, since they were for the homemade salsa and sauce.  However, this is a great lesson learned!  Next year we will plant the tomatoes earlier by a good bit and hopefully they will all be ripe in time to make and jar a bunch of spaghetti sauce and salsa!

Finally I was overzealous with the carrots.  They actually are growing in abundance, but because of the great abundance, they are quite crowded.  They are nice and orange, but short and round instead of long and skinny.  I weeded some out and hope that they will continue to grow to their full capacity, but next year, I have to not put so many seeds in such a small space.

I am happy to have learned these lessons, though I am bummed that my crop didn’t yield the expectation I wanted.  Next year we will make modifications.  😉

2 responses

  1. Wow, you took good garden notes! I did that a few years and then have completely given up. Tomatoes startss to get ripe just as school starts and and I don’t have time to deal with them. I should try your late method lol. And every year I forget to grow pumpkins. Maybe you can remind me next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

