Selfishness

I am angry.  I don’t often get angry, but I am angry.

I am disappointed.

And I am a bit disgusted to tell you the truth.

The mindset of the majority of people is “look out for number one,”  “all about me,”  “I can do it because I want to and who cares who I hurt along the way,” “it feels right right now, lets not worry how it will feel in a day/week/month/year”

I know that God is sovereign and reigns over all, no matter what the government decides, but as I have said previously, I am sickened by what my children will be “taught” is acceptable behavior, what their friends will try to convince them is good when it is evil, and that they will be persecuted for believing in Our Savior.

After Tuesday I didn’t mourn, because I know God is in charge, but I did get angry.  Part of me was even ashamed to be a woman, because I think many women were fooled by smooth words during the campaigning.  I was not fooled, I did the research, separated the lies from the truth as best as anyone.  Not everyone did…male or female.  Some didn’t want to be bothered.  Some like being selfish and setting our future up for failure because they won’t be here to see it.  Some are just clueless.  Some did research and still voted the opposite of what I did, but at least they knew what they were voting for.

Too many people are saying “I want,” which are the very words my children are scolded for saying.  We “wanted” ourselves into a multi-trillion dollar debt.  Why is no one concerned about this?  We “wanted” ourselves into killing millions of unborn children and having others take care of the medical bill.  We “wanted” ourselves into losing the traditional family as a standard.  I use the term we loosely, because I don’t want any of that.

Even if you don’t believe the words of the Bible, lets look at these issues without using the Bible.  How is debt good for anyone?  The majority of abortions are not for medical reasons or rape, so why should my tax dollars go toward killing your baby?  The statistics are extremely clear that children do better with 2 parents in the household…and they do better with a female and a male role model (aka: mom and dad).  This is not always possible, sometimes parents leave or pass away, but in the instances where it is possible, shouldn’t we do our best for our children?  We should not be killing them or showing them by example that sleeping around is okay or leaving them in debt or making them feel persecuted for standing up for their beliefs.

I know I offended people in this post.  I am sorry if you feel bad, but I am not sorry for speaking up.  We cannot be sorry that people are offended because we believe the Word of God.  I would rather you be offended today and maybe look into what I am saying and maybe escape hell, then live for eternity in hell.  Being offended is much better than going to hell.  You can think I am a horrible person, and you know what?  I am.   I am a sinner just like everyone else in the world.  But, I love people.  I love you no matter what choices you make, because I am no better than you.  I will be your friend, because why wouldn’t I be?  Can you be mine?  If I don’t agree with you, can you really be my friend?  I can love you if you are gay, or if you have had an abortion, or if you voted for Obama…can you say the same thing back to me?  Or is it only okay for non-Christians to stand up for what they believe?

I have some friends right now who are making HORRIBLE choices in their lives…this would be agreed upon in the eyes of Christians and non-Christians alike.  Did you note that I said I “have friends”…even with these choices, I am not abandoning my friends.  Christians are able to be angry at the sin and still love the sinner.

Our country is divided right now.  It is obvious by the election.  It is obvious by the aftermath of the election.  Our pastor is awesome and not afraid to speak the truth and his words this weekend were right on.  The future doesn’t look bright.  I pray that we may not give up the fight.  We still have to make our government know what “we the people” stand for.  And above everything else we have to trust in Our Lord and Savior, because He will lead us Home.

Leave a Reply

