weekly update

So…a lot has happened this week…general life (sick kids, hubby out of town, etc) has prevented intense workouts.  I still have been exercising, but not quite to the same degree…at least for cardio.  Lifting has been great!

I have a feeling that I may have  a gluten sensitivity.  I have been tested for celiac before and that has come back negative.  However, on my off days (of eating healthy) I often eat a lot of gluten.  I miss it the other days.  And I ALWAYS feel horrible the next day.  I thought it was just the extra calories, but I think it is the extra gluten.  I have noticed sore throats, itchy ears, gastro issues, acne, stuffy nose, dry skin, distended belly, moodiness, tiredness, etc.  I had been avoiding bread for awhile just to be healthy and had it in the house the past 2 weeks…I don’t know if it is the amount I have eaten or the consistency, but the sore throats and heartburn are to be noted.

All this to say, I may have the clue to why my off days throw my weight into crazy numbers…gluten sensitivity can do that.  And when I was younger those numbers dropped right down…they no longer do that.

And so…the update…scale no progress.  😦  Measurements no progress either, but I am ok with that one, because I was super happy with them last week.

I am currently looking up low calorie gluten free diets to test my theory.  Although with the knowledge that I will be avoiding it soon, I ate some bread today and am experiencing the results.  I could be completely okay with gluten…but some funny things have been happening since I have been eating more of it and I would like to know what is going on with me.

2 responses

  1. Your symptoms sound familiar.. but I really wouldn’t cut gluten before you have had a shot at a diagnosis. If you cut gluten too soon the diagnosis will show a false negative.

    Get tested though, it might be well worth the effort!

    -Kristine (coeliac btw)

Leave a Reply

