Reflection, Perspective and New Starts

My body sure has been through a lot in the last decade…pregnancies, births, crazy weight loss, weight back to normal, weight past normal (:P), various tests the last few years to determine…finally…that my body reacts to yellow dye, potentially other dyes, and is intolerant to a smattering of foods like oatmeal and broccoli (both of which I actually like).  In the midst of all the craziness, my workouts have intensified, my time with God has jumped around and my perspective has changed.

My body weight and fat percentage are not where I want them…I desire to be healthier and to shed a few pounds while defining the muscle that is already there, but I am finally at the point where I am not going to dwell on it as much as I have in the past.  Wondering which mirror is the most accurate, missing sleep to squeeze in that last hour of the workout, or just obsessing about 5 or even 10 pounds.  If I am making healthy choices, the weight will come off in time.  If I am not eating like a football player and being a glutton, if my husband loves me and more importantly my Savior loves me, then there is not one reason to obsess.  If someone else judges me based on a few pounds, shame on them, and if I let that bother me, shame on me.  My priorities need to be on God first.  I am ashamed to say that there have been days where I stayed up late to workout and then fell asleep reading my Bible.

So I am making a few changes.  I am still going to be healthy and workout, because I enjoy working out and think people should take care of the bodies God has given to them.

My mornings will look a little like this:

  • Devotionals (a few pages of 2-3)
  • Prayer and journal time
  • online devotions
  • workout (currently I am doing an ab challenge, a squat challenge, elliptical, a 4 week program kind of and I just printed the Spartacus workout so we will see if I add that in…that one is only 3xs a week and the 4 week program is not everyday either)
  • Normal day of chasing children, teaching children, cleaning, cooking and household maintenance
  • depending on how much time I spent working out, possibly another workout before bed…but not too late.  😉

With all the craziness of food I am going to attempt to eat as clean as possible.  I know this needs to be a gradual switch, so I will do it the right way.

I am excited to have a better perspective, I am excited to be healthier, I am most excited to see where the Lord will lead me and my family.

Just a few Tuesday life thoughts  🙂

2 responses

  1. I’m proud of you. That can be a difficult place to get to. I still struggle to just be as healthy as I can and to let God take care of the rest. I can say that since I started running – really doing it – 2 weeks ago, I feel so much better! It really is all in our perspective, and God loves us no matter what size we are. I’m looking forward to your victory post!!

Leave a Reply

