The Clash of the Kings, The Dawn Treader, and more

I finally finished The Clash of the Kings by George R.R. Martin.  Summer has proven to not assist me in reading or dieting or exercising…or blogging.  I have completely fallen into the “lazy days of summer.”  That statement is a bit humorous as we are always on the go…but the schedule disappeared and I took a long break from reading.  Alas,  “The Clash” is now completed.  After about 1600 pages of reading (book 1 and 2) I am still eager to read the next parts of the saga.  There are 3 more books to go…at least until more are added.  😉  It is moving faster now that all the characters, their quirks and the plots are set.  I have to say I like them, and don’t mind skipping the pages that are unnecessary (crude, lude, etc).  I still have not watched the series and have no intention to, but have begun this journey and want to see how it ends.

I am working through the Narnia series with my children and we are now on the Dawn Treader.  It is great, of course.  Aren’t all Narnian books?  I don’t know if I can honestly say any are as good as the first, but they are all great reading opportunities for the family.

The kids’ devotional also encouraged us to read the book of Esther together.  (Since we began the Narnia series we have had many discussions on the Bible being truth and fact, while other stories are fiction.)  We just began reading a chapter a day and are on chapter 3 (of Esther).  I have decided to read a chapter a day as part of school, so after Esther is done we will choose another book of the Bible to walk through.  I like reading the chapters to the kids, because it forces me to think about each word and explain the context more thoroughly than if I am just reading it to myself.

I am slowly working my way through The Power of a Woman’s Words, by Sharon Jaynes, which is a great reminder…daily…of how I should hold my tongue.

And those are our reading updates for the moment…  😉

Leave a Reply

