Children’s Books

I have to tell you that I love Beverly Lewis!  It has been awhile since I read a chapter book from a children’s series, so it seemed a bit simple at first, but then I had to remember it needs to be simple.  😉  She has little people as her audience.  We began reading The Cul-de-sac kid series as a family, but my daughter also reads them on her own.   I recommend them to anyone with lower elementary aged children.  It is especially great for our family since we live on a cul-de-sac street, have girls and boys, and have adopted!  I love how closely the family in the book relates to our family.  Most importantly, the children in the story PRAY!  I am so excited that an author wrote a children’s book in which the children pray.  We have only read the first book, but will definitely continue the series.  Love The Cul-de-sac Kids!  🙂

When our cat died I looked for some books for the kids to read and help them.   The Bible is not clear on what happens to animals when they die.  There is no way for us to know if they will be in Heaven or not.  Sooooo….a lot of assumptions are made in children’s books to make the child feel better.  It is a great thing to make a child feel better, but in our family we want to make them feel better with truth and not assumptions.  I previewed the books and ended up not giving any to the children to read, solely because of mixed messages.  The worst one, however, was the one that was trying to be most politically correct.  I will not mention the title, but according to the reviews it is a pretty popular choice.  The entire book was great…up until the point when the author had the daddy character tell his child that we are not sure if there is a heaven or not.  That closed the book for me.  I understand for sales an author may not want to step on toes and offend people.  However, I give great praise and credit to the authors who aren’t afraid to stand up for their faith even in children’s books.  Thank you Beverly Lewis!

Leave a Reply

