The Kite Runner and Catching Fire

I finished The Kite Runner.  It took me about a third of the book to “get into it” but then I was hooked.  It was done well.  Khaled Hosseini is a talented author.  It is eye opening.  That is the best way for me to describe it.   My heart breaks for the suffering of people all over the world.  I am not one to pretend that the world is always happy and no one faces pain.  On the contrary, I know that there is more than enough suffering and pain to go around.  But sometimes thinking like that is just as bad as pretending there is none, because we get immune to it.  I like reading books that put it in my face a little bit.  It makes me better aware.  And hopefully the more aware we are, the more help we will be able to provide.  Even if our help is “only to pray,” prayer is an enormous thing we can do, because God can reach across the world.

I also saw Catching Fire this weekend.  I give a lot of credit to everyone that is part of the Hunger Games movies.  I think the movies are an excellent representation of the books in details, characters and settings.  I enjoy the Hunger Games series.  I am not as big of a fan of the second and third books as I am of the first, but I still enjoy them.  The movie was the same for me.  As good as it was, not quite as wonderful as the first.  It is a tough thing to do.  I still think they all did a great job!  And, I loved that Divergent was previewed…cannot wait to see that, too.  🙂

2 responses

  1. The Kite Runner sounds like a good book. I really enjoy books that open my eyes and make me stop and think. I loved Catching Fire and I loved the entire cast. Soooo well done. Can’t wait for Divergent.

Leave a Reply

