The Laughable Nonsense of Kirstie Alley

When people use their religion to defend repulsive behavior, killing or hurting others, I would hope it would make others quickly question that religion.

Kirstie Alley and other outspoken scientologists may not be as ruthless as terrorists who bomb families in the “name of religion,” but they certainly are not doing their religion any favors.

I saw on my MSN homepage that Kirstie Alley is attacking Leah Remini for actually having an opinion about a religion in which she was once associated.  I do not know either person, but in terms of faith will very briefly discuss them.  Leah Remini belonged to the Church of Scientology and has recently left.  She does not have anything good to say about it.  Neither do I, but she has actually been part of the group.  I would say it is fair for her to express her opinions.  Kirstie Alley who remains a scientologist cannot be friends with anyone who disagrees with her religion as she was quoted saying, “she’s a bigot. If someone was really out there [saying negative things about your religion], would they be your friend? They wouldn’t be mine. It’s not selective, I just won’t have people in my life that are that.”

It confuses me.  As a Christian, my faith is attacked continuously.  Not always directly and certainly not directly in a way that my life is at stake, but the Christian faith is definitely attacked by a large group of people.  Do I like it?  Of course not.  Was it predicted in the Bible?  Yes.  Am I supposed to shun people who do not share my faith?  NO NO NO!  If you truly believe in your religion, you want others to be part of that religion.  As a Christian, I truly believe the Bible.  I believe that people need to have a personal relationship with their Lord and Savior to spend eternity in Heaven.  I believe that so strongly that I do not want ANYONE to go to hell.  NOT ONE.  So whether or not you attack my religion, I will still pray for you.  I will still be friends with you.  I will not drop you because you leave my church.  I would think every religion would feel this way.  What good is anyone doing by being cruel “in the name of religion”?  It baffles my mind!

2 responses

  1. Wow, I didn’t realize Kirstie Alley was Scientologist and it’s interesting to hear what she said. That’s too bad. I agree 100% with what you said though. I love and live my religion completely, but I don’t judge anyone for leaving or bashing my church at all. In fact, I appreciate all religions that teach people to be good, honest, hard-working, kind people; people who try to be Christ-like. We need more people like that!

Leave a Reply

