Step Mom

I recently watched the movie, Step Mom,  as I was running on the elliptical and it got to me.  As a mom, I guess I take it personally.  I do not like how through the whole movie Julia Roberts (the step-mom to be) is portrayed as the underdog.  I fully believe that a mom who loves her children and is an active part of their lives should not have to compete with another for the title of mom.  I am not a supporter of divorce at all, but if the situation happens and another comes into the picture, of course you don’t want a battle between your children and the new person…that wouldn’t be fair for anyone.  I just pray that people begin to take marriage more seriously and these situations do not “need” to happen.  I guess for me, the worst part of the movie is when the mom knew she was dying and was talking about her kids’ futures.  The step mom tells this dying woman that she fears her step daughter will be thinking of her (the mom) on her wedding day.  How selfish.  If anything should happen to me that I couldn’t be there on any of my children’s wedding day, I would take it as a personal failure if they didn’t think of me.  Of course, the mom’s fear is that she will be replaced and her daughter won’t think of her or wish her to be there.  So sad.  Before I was a mom, I liked this movie a lot more.  Now that I am a mama  bear…hmmm…maybe it just strikes a little too close to the heart.

Leave a Reply

