Frozen

I was listening to the radio last week when the dj mentioned that Frozen was the only Oscar nominated film he had seen this year.  It made me smile, because I may just be in the same boat.  I am a fan of the movie Frozen, but moreover I am a fan of the soundtrack.  I enjoy playing the songs for my kids, because I like them myself.

I think music touches us all a bit differently.  The one song from the soundtrack, “Let it Go” is probably my favorite.  And…the more I listen to it, the more I relate it to my relationship with God.  Elsa (one of the princesses in the movie) is born with a special gift or curse, depending on how it is used.  Her parents told her to keep it hidden, so she was isolated and afraid of letting others see who she really was.  She gains a bit of freedom in the movie and sings about how she can finally let her whole self show, she can be herself and she doesn’t have to be perfect anymore.  I see this as an excellent teaching moment for kids.  We all have been given gifts and we all have faults.  We can try to be perfect, work very hard at it, but we cannot do it on our own.  Only with God can we truly let ourselves go, be who He wants us to be, figure out how to rely on Him instead of trying to be perfect.  No, we should not go on sinning simply to get more grace, but we can show Him our scars, our faults and our attempts at being perfect.  We can rely on Him for everything, stop hiding who we are and let it go.  A long time ago a friend told me to “Let Go and Let God.”  I think that applies well here and in life.

Leave a Reply

