Better Me

I have not been hard on myself lately in terms of diet and exercise.  There are perks to this…more sleep, more time, less stress, etc.  There are also downfalls…slight weight gain (though not too bad), less routine, less commitment, worse shape.  Most noted though is that since I used to wake up at dawn to work out, that was also when I would do my quiet time, devos, etc.  Those have been shortened lately, and while I continue to focus upward and spend time in the Word, I am not doing nearly what I could be…or should be.  Not entirely directly related…I feel guilty when I pig out…not just because I feel gross, but I feel like a glutton.  I do believe that it is sinful to overeat and/or not take care of your body (your temple) in the manner in which we are called.

Hence, I am coming back to my blog to keep me accountable in improving my time with my Savior, who deserves every millisecond of my life, as well as improving my diet/exercise (which as I said, is not terrible, but could use a little kick).  I am going to keep it simple.  I find it amusing that there are so many diets and eating plans that claim to be different, but truly are the same…or awfully similar.  Diet = a way of eating.  Diet does not = starving yourself.  Most diets ask for 80% or more effort.  Most diets encourage protein and veggies to fill up your plate.  The biggest difference in many diets are the issues or grains and dairy, but if you are following whichever diet you choose at 80%, then putting 20% of dairy or grains in your day or week is not big deal.  I digress…I did say I would keep it simple.

Each day I will come on and put up a verse, a scripture, a question or a brief commentary of something I have read in the Bible or from a devotional book or a study book.  Each day I will eat no more than 1500 calories…aiming for heavy proteins, veggies, water and green tea.  Each day I will do a minimum of 45 minutes of exercise.  Sundays will be my day off of workouts and calorie counting.  Anyone who would like to come along on this journey with me, just reply to my daily posts and we can get better together!  🙂  I am convicted to be better for Jesus (not that anything good is of me, it is all of Him) but I want to commit to being better for Him, for my family and for me.

2 responses

  1. Your commitment is amazing! I thought you looked great when I saw you in August. I’ve been sleeping in a bit more too but find that it is helping rather than hurting physically, but it does take a toll on my quiet time. Just keep in mind that God loves you no matter what you weigh and how you look! His love never changes (no matter how much my clothing size might!). I’m looking forward to your daily dose of encouragement.

    • I am definitely glad that the inside matters more than the out, which is why I want to commit to both. Not that anything I do changes God of course. I do like to be healthy too. 🙂 Hopefully He will help me keep this committment. 🙂 Glad we can keep up with each other this way, too.

Leave a Reply

